Hearkening

AngelsHerald

Hail the Heaven born Prince of Peace

Hail the Son of Righteousness

Light and Life to all He brings

Risen with healing in His wings

I can easily imagine those who waited for the coming Messiah holding their collective breath. Years of silence was broken by a chorus of Angels exclaiming… Hark. He is come. He is here. And they gasped. A little breath of hope. Freedom in the form of a baby in a manger.

Mild He lay His glory by

Born that men no more may die

Born to raise the sons of earth

Born to give them second birth

For generations His people were bound to to perform under impossible laws, making sacrifice after endless sacrifice to atone for their sin. But it pleased the God of heaven to lay His glory aside and come to change it all. Unto us, unto me, this child was born. He came with light and life, healing and restoration, peace and lasting reconciliation.

Trapped in a tradition of legalism, I’ve wasted many tears working to atone for sin that was paid for over 2000 years ago. But some time in the last year my heart hearkened to Him. I stopped questioning if His grace was enough; I stopped questioning if I was enough. I know that I am His. Deep inside of me. I know when I look in His face that I’m covered by His grace and His love is towards me.  I have walked in darkness, but in this year, I have seen a great light. I know, experientially, the life of freedom that He brings. He has pulled me close and embraced me with His healing wings.

Glory to God in the highest! And on earth, peace among those with whom He is pleased.

This year when I sing of the newborn King, it is with a heart that is full of grateful love I’ve never known before. Peace is mine because I know He is pleased. This is why He came. May our hearts always hearken to Him; to know His peace and His pleasure, this Christmas and always.

One thought on “Hearkening

  1. I found a poem in what you wrote.

    I know when I look into His face
    That I am covered by His grace.
    With His love shining toward me
    Covering my sin by the deepest sea.
    When darkness tried to hide my soul
    Jesus’ love made me whole.
    I know the life His freedom brings
    With His embrace of healing wings.

    Jerry Sledge

    So nice to have met you.

    I saw Jesus’ love in your face.
    A glimpse of Heaven I could embrace.
    As your love of Jesus I got to taste.

Leave a Reply

